OTSEM is a network of Old Testament scholars connected to PhD programs in a number of Northern European university institutions (see below). The object of the network is to improve the environment for Hebrew Bible / Old Testament research, especially doctoral and post doctoral research, by inspiring contact and cooperation between members and departments throughout the network. We usually meet once a year for our Annual Meeting in which younger scholars present their work and receive feedback. The upcoming meetings are as follows:

2017: Helsinki; 8-10 Sept
2018: Oslo (MF); 7-9 Sept
2019: London

Institutions currently represented in the network 

Denmark: University of Copenhagen; Aarhus University
Estonia: Tartu University (associated through Helsinki)
Finland: University of Helsinki; Åbo Akademi University 
Germany: University of Hamburg; Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Iceland: University of Iceland
Great Britain: University of Oxford; King's College London; University of Edinburgh
Norway: University of Oslo; MF Norwegian School of Theology; Norwegian School of Mission and Theology
Sweden: Uppsala University; Lund University

As a network we have gone through several phases of co-operation and growth. In the "pre-OTSEM" period before 2004 there were some ten years of bilateral and trilateral cooperations. During the OTSEM-1 period, 2004 – 2008 funded by the research council of the Nordic Ministry, the network grew and in the end included scholars at eleven university institutions. In the present OTSEM-2 phase, the network keeps growing. (Further information is found in our "History" section.)

Network Coordinator

Prof. Dr. Corinna Körting

Professor for Old Testament and Ancient Oriental History of Religions
FB Evangelische Theologie
Universität Hamburg
Sedanstr. 19
D-20146 Hamburg 

Phone: +49 - (0) 40 / 42838 - 3787 or - 3788 (Secretariat)
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Local contacts & Coordinating Committee (bold)

Prof. Martti Nissinen, Helsinki
Prof. Antti Laato, Åbo
Prof. Göran Eidevall, Uppsala
Prof. Fredrik Lindström, Lund
Prof. Hindy Najman, Oxford
Prof. Else K. Holt, Aarhus
Prof. Anne Katrine de Hemmer Gudme, Copenhagen
Prof. Karl William Weyde, Oslo
Prof. Terje Stordalen, Oslo
Prof. Magnar Kartveit, Stavanger
Prof. Gunnlaugur A. Jónsson, Reykjavik
Prof. Reinhard G. Kratz, Göttingen
Dr. Anja Klein, Edinburgh
Dr. Jonathan Stökl, London

Post-Doc representatives
Dr. Mette Bundvad, Copenhagen
Dr. Kristin Joachimsen, Oslo

PhD representatives
Cand. Timo Tekoniemi, Helsinki
Cand. Anna Khanina, Oxford